Gold star if you sung the title in your head.

Before I get started on this blog, I wanted to share a bit about myself (#selfish). I lived in residence for  my entire undergrad, moving from place to place working with Residence Life. I did my first two weeks of first year (lol) in MacIsaac (great people just not my vibe), then moved to MSB (yeah, I know I’m old). After that I lived in Lane, Chillis, and O’Regan, for the next three years, respectively. This year I figured, new degree, time to move OC. Therefore, I did not expect to be woken up this morning to the familiar cheers of SHINERAMA!! But, man, did O-Crew, and the first years ever bring it!

In hindsight, I live on a busier street in the ‘Nish so it shouldn’t be any surprise that there are TONS of people out collecting donations, but it was such a great way to wake up that I took note. Now, I know what you’re thinking, waking up for Shine Day after a night out, especially to screams and cheers, does not sound like a pleasant way to wake up. Not at all.

BUT when you know they’re people from your university (StFX in case you’re new here) who are giving their time to help add 10 whole months to the lives of people living with Cystic Fibrosis, you can’t help but smile.

dscn4063

I drove around town to check out what everyone was up to, and let me tell you, the cheers I woke up to outside my window were just the beginning of high energy, talent, and enthusiasm that was radiating across our small town. TnT and MP rocked it at the BBQ outside Sobeys, MSB never stopped cheering along James Street, Lane hit up the folks walking on Main Street, MacNeil showed off their talent across from the Wheel, and so much more!

This was a great end to an even better frosh week 2016! Congrats on a great day! #ThisIs2020

 

